About Us

About the Sciencenter

The Sciencenter, a non-profit hands-on science museum in Ithaca, New York, grew out of a volunteer-run science program at a local elementary school. Founded in 1983, the Sciencenter operated from storefronts for nearly a decade. In 1993, the museum opened the first phase of its permanent home. Phase II opened in 1996 and provided additional program space. Phase III, which opened in 2003, expanded the Sciencenter to 32,000 sq. ft. During the decade from 1992-2002, 3,400 volunteers donated 50,000 hours of time to construct the Sciencenter. In 2010, the Sciencenter acquired an additional 8,000 sq. ft. building to support its growing traveling exhibition program.

Today, the Sciencenter is a nationally recognized museum, hosting 100,000 guests in Ithaca each year and reaching over 1.5 million guests worldwide through our traveling exhibitions and outreach programs.

The Sciencenter is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (AAM) and is a member of the Association of Science-Technology Centers (ASTC) and Association of Children’s Museums (ACM).

Sciencenter Mission: To inspire excitement for science through interactive exhibits and programs that engage, educate, and empower.

Download our complete history overview


The Sciencenter staff is available to help make your visit a pleasant experience and we look forward to speaking with you. Click here to view the Sciencenter organization chart.


Administration

Name/Email Title Ext.
Dean Briere
dbriere@sciencenter.org
Dean Briere Executive Director (Bio) x126
Chris Fagan
cfagan@sciencenter.org
Chris Fagan Chief Financial Officer
and Director of Human Resources
x130
Allison Sribarra
asribarra@sciencenter.org
Allison Sribarra Grant Manager x133
Monika Collins
mcollins@sciencenter.org
Monika Collins Director of Development
and Community Relations
x122

Advancement

Name/Email Title Ext.
Christine Bissen
cbissen@sciencenter.org
Christine Bissen Director of Advancement x119
Amy Gaulke
agaulke@sciencenter.org
Amy Gaulke Public and Media
Relations Manager
x114
Alexis Falise
afalise@sciencenter.org
Alexis Falise Advancement Coordinator x118

Education

Name/Email Title Ext.
Michelle Kortenaar
mkortenaar@sciencenter.org
Michelle Kortenaar Director of Program x124
Victoria Fiordalis
vfiordalis@sciencenter.org
Victoria Fiordalis Early Explorer Educator x149
Lauren Van Derzee
lvanderzee@sciencenter.org
Lauren Van Derzee Youth Program Coordinator x148
Bethany Resnick
bresnick@sciencenter.org
Bethany Resnick National Early Childhood Coordinator x120

Exhibits

Name/Email Title Ext.
OPEN
OPEN Director of Exhibits x135
David Jordan
djordan@sciencenter.org
David Jordan Interim Director of Exhibits x146
Robin Burlingham
rburlingham@sciencenter.org
Robin Burlingham Traveling Exhibitions Manager x128
Kathy Krafft
kkrafft@sciencenter.org
Kathy Krafft Traveling Exhibitions Curator x125
Colin Meeks
cmeeks@sciencenter.org
Colin Meeks Live Exhibits Manager x132
Mike Napierski
mnapierski@sciencenter.org
Mike Napierski Facilities Manager
and Exhibit Fabricator
x142
Julian Pompilio
jpompilio@sciencenter.org
Julian Pompilio Exhibit Fabricator x143
Bryan Redd
bredd@sciencenter.org
Bryan Redd Exhibit Technician x137

Guest Relations and Operations

Name/Email Title Ext.
Josh Giblin
jgiblin@sciencenter.org
Josh Giblin Director of Guest
Relations and Operations
x116
Judy Ammack
jammack@sciencenter.org
Judy Ammack Volunteer Manager x110
Donna Bodenstein
dbodenstein@sciencenter.org
Donna Bodenstein Museum Store Manager x115
Patricia Flery
pflery@sciencenter.org
Patricia Flery Museum Greeter x121
Matthew Griffin
mgriffin@sciencenter.org
Matthew Griffin Museum Greeter x121
Judy Stock
jstock@sciencenter.org
Judy Stock Museum Greeter x121

National Collaborative Projects

Name/Email Title Ext.
Ali Jackson
ajackson@sciencenter.org
Ali Jackson Director of National
Collaborative Projects
x144
Emily Cotman
ecotman@sciencenter.org
Emily Cotman National STEM Project Coordinator x123

Sciencenter Board of Trustees

  • Greg Galvin, Chair
  • Mindy Oakes, Vice Chair
  • Mark Kreydt, Secretary
  • John Saunders, Treasurer
  • Helene Schember, Past Chair
  • Nicole Eversley Bradwell
  • Robin Davisson
  • Joanna Dennis
  • A.J. Edwards
  • George Gull
  • Seth Hiland
  • Mark Hurwitz
  • Richard Kiely
  • Heather McDaniel
  • Kara Pass
  • Laurie Robinson
  • Jason Sanford
  • Karen Smith
  • Shawn Wilczynski
  • Dean Briere, Ex-officio

Sciencenter Advisory Board

John Alexander, Warren Allmon, Bill Bassett, Brian Bauer, Walt Cottrell, Susan Currie, Ann Druyan, Jennifer Engel, Sarah Evanega, Howard Evans, Gary Ferguson, David Fernandez, Johanna Gettinger, Russ Givens, Michael Goldstein, Mary Grainger, Janet Hawkes, Lindsey Hayes, Kim Holloway, Carolyn Horner, Laurie Johnston, Denise Lee, Debbie Levin, Ilma Levine, Bruce Lewenstein, Bob McGuire, Susan Mittler, Lorraine Moynihan Schmitt, Svante Myrick, John Neuman, Michael Nolan, Bill Nye, Tom O’Rourke, Mason Peck, Nancy Potter, Rick Prybyl, Frank Rhodes, Martha Robertson, Frank Robinson, Tacie Saltonstall, Lynnette Scofield, Arthur Shull, Michael Stamm, Blixy Taetzsch, Jennifer Tavares, Yervant Terzian, Bruce Thompson, Marguerite Uphoff, Tom Van Derzee, Charlie Walcott, Sean Whittaker, Gary Woloszyn, Amy Yale-Loehr, and Gene Yarussi.

Get Involved Press Resources
Sciencenter
Divider

Find us

Sciencenter 601 1st Street Ithaca, NY 14850
Google map directions

Contact us

Museum & Store Hours

  • Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 5 pm*
  • Sunday, 12 pm - 5 pm
  • *Open holiday Mondays and Mondays in July and August, 10 am - 5 pm

Website by Bells Design